Clean & Simple Card Making 2 Day 6: More Sketches

Well, I just realized that I skipped Day 6 by mistake!

This lesson focused on using sketches to plan your card design. I stuck pretty closely to the first example in using a tone-on-tone look for my Valentine’s Day card.

Tone-on-tone Valentine's Day card.

Tone-on-tone Valentine’s Day card.

I’m fairly happy with this card, but I still struggle with getting a clean, crisp embossed sentiment when using white embossing powder. When you look closely, you can see little flecks of white around the sentiment. It doesn’t look that bad until you use your heat gun, and then it’s just about impossible to remove!

I do like the spare look of the white, grey and red. I used my Impression Obsession brick background stamp along with Recollections white embossing powder to heat-set the background on some taupe-grey card stock. I used a darker grey cardstock and the same embossing powder for the sentiment, which comes from a Hero Arts stamp set. I used my Martha Stewart embossed heart punch on the rose patterned paper, which comes from Hobby Lobby’s Paper Studio line called Love You (I think it’s exclusive for Valentine’s Day). I adhered the heart with 3-D foam circles and then wrapped a red and white Doodle Twine around the bottom.

Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

