Birthday card: Act your shoe size, not your age!

"Act your shoe size, not your age!"

Becky’s birthday card.

Now that my Clean & Simple Card Making 2 Class is over, I’ll be posting a larger variety of paper projects. Most of them probably will not be categorized as “clean and simple!”

This card is an example of that. My sister’s birthday is coming up soon, and I just loved the saying, “Act your shoe size, not your age.” Of course, my older sister and I used to always admonish my younger sister to do just the opposite of that — act her age! With her goofy sense of humor, I think she will appreciate this card, especially the sassy birthday girl on front.

The card base is an A7 size, from a card set I bought at either Michael’s or Hobby Lobby. It might be hard to tell, but the paper is slightly off-white to match the off-white watercolor paper I used for the image. The image and sentiment come from the Inky Antics Ageless Worldly Women set. I stamped both in Versafine onyx black (my new favorite black ink) and colored the image with my Inktense pencils in a variety of colors with my water pen. I used a Spellbinders die to cut and emboss around the image.

I just love this sentiment!

I just love this sentiment!

I also used my crystal sparkle pen to add a little shine to the top of the cupcake, candle and birthday hat. The printed papers are from Hobby Lobby’s the Paper Studio line, Celebrations in a 6 x 12 pad. I embossed the blue background paper using a cupcake folder, also from the Paper Studio. Gotta love it when Hobby Lobby has a sale! The sentiment was created using an EK Success triple punch. All edges were inked in blue, and I popped up the image and sentiment with 3-D adhesive. As a final touch, I rounded the bottom corners using my Corner Chomper.

I think I’m pretty happy with how it turned it. Happy early birthday to my sister!

Leave a Reply

