Dylusions “Magic” Project

Recently I’ve really gotten into Dyan Reaveley’s Dylusions line. Especially her playful people stamps and sentiments. I started out with the intention of making a card, but I like the sentiment so much that I’ve decided to keep it as a mini “canvas” instead.

My playful reminder to take a risk.

My playful reminder to take a risk.

The background stamp is from Impression Obsession. Once I stamped it in grey on light grey cardstock, it reminded me of rain. I used some Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Faded Jeans to make it look a little more stormy around the edges. One of my Dylusions stamp sets featured some fun umbrellas, so I thought this might be a good opportunity to play with both.

I like the sentiment in and of itself (also from Dylusions), and I think it reinforces the idea of standing in the rain with your umbrella closed so you don’t miss the “magic” of rainfall. I stamped it on white paper, fussy cut the pieces and edged them with a black Sharpie marker. It’s hard to see in the photo, but I also used my glitter pen to trace around the word, “magic.”

Funny, a friend had teased me that I truly must be a cat person since I hate getting caught in the rain (she js a dog person, of course!). Yes, I prefer cats, but I like dogs too. And I don’t mind getting wet if I don’t have somewhere to go!

I stamped my girl twice, once on green patterned paper for the jacket, and once on watercolor paper for the rest. I used my Inktense pencils with a water brush to color the rest of the body, plus her head, which I cut out separately. I adhered the jacket to the body for some paper piecing and then used 3-D dots to adhere the body and her face to the card. I stamped the umbrella on that same green patterned paper for the umbrella and adhered it to the card.

Since I want to keep it on display, I used my tape runner to adhere the whole thing to a piece of chipboard. I think I will keep it by my front door as a gentle reminder that sometimes it’s better to take a risk (and put away the umbrella) …

Enjoy!

One thought on “Dylusions “Magic” Project

Leave a Reply

