Peacock Feather Card: This Moment is Your Life

My friend Becky gave me this lovely peacock feather stamp for Christmas. I’ve been meaning to use it for a long time, and finally, I have! I’ll pop it in the mail this weekend as a thank-you to her. I think she will appreciate it!

My friend bought this peacock stamp for me, so it's only fitting that I make a card with it for her!

My friend bought this peacock stamp for me, so it’s only fitting that I make a card with it for her!

I used a 5″ x 6.5″ kraft cardstock base and Versamark Ink to create a subtle watermark background with the Peacock Feather stamp, which is a wooden one from Stampendous.

I used the stamp on watercolor paper in Versafine black ink and colored it in with my Inktense pencils in various shades of blue and green. Then I took my water brush and lightly painted over it to blend the colors. Finally, I used Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Tea Dye to shade the edges to better complement the kraft paper.

I adhered the colored feather image to a slightly larger piece of peacock feather paper from Graphic 45. I matted that with a dark brown paper and adhered to the lower right corner of the card.

I had planned to stamp the sentiment directly to the inside of the card, but somehow I smeared black ink on the inside! So instead I stamped it on ivory card stock and adhered that to the inside of the card, with just a little of the kraft paper peeking out on the sides. The sentiment is on a wooden stamp from Ditto.

I like this sentiment.

I like this sentiment.

As a lover of peacocks, I think I’m pretty happy with it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

