Pattern Play: Bonus Birthday Card

In this Online Card Class Pattern Play bonus episode, we combined a variety of paper patterns to create a pinwheel effect on a card. Here’s my take:

Creating a pinwheel design from patterned paper...

Creating a pinwheel design from patterned paper…

As you can see , I focused on a birthday theme, using all the same bright patterns from a Paper Studio pad. I also used a stamp and die set to create the cupcake and candle, which I colored with my Derwent Inktense pencils. I stamped “happy b-day” from the Mama Elephant typewriter stamp set that I used in my last post.

I dry-embossed the front of the card using a chevron pattern from a Cuttlebug folder. I also rounded two opposite corners of the card with my Corner Chomper and did the same to the patterned paper. As a final stamp, I used my Martha Stewart stars punch to punch tiny little stars out of glitter paper, which I adhered with both glue and foam tape.

This one goes in the mail this week for my friend Mike’s birthday. I think it will be a nice surprise!

Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

