Pattern Play: Typewriter Birthday Card

The Online Card Class Pattern Play officially ends tomorrow, so I am catching up on a couple of homework assignments. This typewriter birthday card comes from the Day 3 assignment of working with bold patterns. One of the tips is to use vellum over the pattern to tone it down. Here’s my version:

A perfect birthday card for my writer-friend!

A perfect birthday card for my writer-friend!

I am pretty happy with this card. Normally I don’t think I would have gone for so many different patterns, but I wanted to stick closely to the instructor’s example. I think it helps that I chose slightly muted colors that all came from the same 6 x 6 paper pad. I used the Hero Arts Envelope stamp in grey ink directly on the card front.

I love the typewriter stamp set from Mama Elephant. I embossed the typewriter in black embossing powder, then I stamped and fussy-cut the paper. I love the instructor’s idea of cutting a slit in the typewriter to insert the paper into it. The stamp set comes with a variety of different sentiments to personalize your typed page.

It’s my co-worker’s birthday, and since editing and writing is a large part of her job, I thought this was a perfect way to wish her a happy birthday.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

