Pattern Play: Bon Voyage

As this Pattern Play class wraps up, I’m posting some of the homework assignments I missed. This one is from the last day of class, using various patterned papers in circle patterns. Here is my take:

A blue travel theme for my upcoming Paris trip.

A blue travel theme for my upcoming Paris trip.

I think I like it. It’s kind of monochromatic, but I wanted to stick with the “bon voyage” theme of travel, with the blue echoing the blue of the ocean. I made this card for my friend who is planning a trip to Paris with  me. We haven’t made any reservations so far, and I think this will be a friendly reminder for us to stop dreaming and start solidifying our travel plans. I am excited!

The patterned papers come from the same Authentique paper pad I used in an earlier post. I noticed I am drawn towards blue and green colors. Maybe it makes sense since I am a Florida girl and love the water. I used a half-inch and three-quarters-inch punch to make the circles, which I placed around three stamps from a Martha Stewart travel stamp set. I experimented with various shades of blue ink and finally settled on this blue chalk ink from Color Box.

The final touches included placing little white dots scattered around the design using Ranger’s Enamel Accents. Then I took my Tim Holt Distress Marker in blue to Faded Jeans to draw stitch marks around the edges of the white A2 card.

Hope you enjoy. Happy travels!

2 thoughts on “Pattern Play: Bon Voyage

Leave a Reply

