Absolutely Adore You Striped Card

Well, this card turned out very different from my original idea!

A masculine card for my grown nephew.

A masculine card for my grown nephew.

I have this stamp and die set from Simon Says Stamp with all the sentiments coordinating with the Absolutely die. Originally I had planned to die-cut Absolutely from a piece of white card stock and then print the various sentiments in bright colors down the middle. But when I sat down at my craft table, I decided to go for a more dramatic look with the black paper. I thought I could emboss the sentiments using a champagne-colored Versamark ink pad and have them really stand out against the black background. Well, they didn’t. They were really hard to see.

So then I decided to try my Perfect Pearls powder in gold–the first I had ever used Perfect Pearls. It definitely stands out more; I’m just not sure how much I like it.

At that point I had to change the background paper to coordinate with the black and gold background. The black patterned paper on kraft paper I had intended just didn’t work. Luckily, I found this 12×12 paper pad from the Paper Studio called Simple Elegance that has a lot of black and gold papers in it. I liked using the stripes horizontally rather than vertically to give it a more modern look.

The final touch was punching some stars in gold paper (from the same paper pad) using my Martha Stewart punch. This punch is quickly becoming a favorite!

I think I like the final result. It’s darker, more formal and more masculine than I had planned, but I think it will work as a congratulations card for my nephew when he graduates from college.

Please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

