You Had Me at Merlot Card

I just got a new stamp set from Lil’ Inker Designs called Sugar Kissed Cottage – Snarky Lady 1, and I was inspired to create this card based on the example on their web site :

A cute card for my friend who loves Merlot--and shoes!

A cute card for my friend who loves Merlot–and shoes!

I’m meeting a friend for drinks tonight, and since she is a Merlot lover, I thought this card would be perfect for her. She’s also pretty girly and is always wearing high heels!

I colored the image on watercolor paper with Tim Holtz Distress Markers and a water brush. I didn’t have a matching marker for the greenish blue scarf and stripes, so I tried to create it with a combination of Broken China and Mustard Seed. It’s definitely not an exact match, but I think it’s close enough.

The card base is from Neenah Desert Storm. The patterned papers are from the DCWV All About Girls mat stack. I ran the hot pink layer behind the sentiment between a Cuttlebug Swiss Dot embossing folder. I layered the image and sentiment with dimensional adhesive, and used my tape runner for the other papers. The final touch was using my Corner Chomper on the bottom corners and adding a rhinestone in the corner.

I think I like it. Please tell me what you think!

P.S. I’m really impressed with the shipping from Lil’ Inker Designs. I placed the order last weekend and got it in the mail the following Thursday. Plus I got a free stamp set because I entered a code I found on their Facebook page. I am loving their mini pinwheel die!

4 thoughts on “You Had Me at Merlot Card

    • Thanks, Bonnie. Yes, wine and high heels don’t always go together, but my friend loves them both! She seemed touched that I made it just for her. That’s what I love about making cards–so much more personal than a store-bought card.

Leave a Reply

