Spring Bee Card

I created this card after coming across some sketch challenges on the Split Coast Stampers’ forums. The moderator provides a “sketch” or layout of a card, and then people submit their version of the card.

For my first try, I chose a simple layout to focus on the stamped images:

A colorful card for spring.

A colorful card for spring.

I was really tempted to put something extra in the upper right-hand corner, like a flower or some rhinestones, but I decided to stick with the sketch as it was published. If I were to try it again, I think I would use another patterned paper in place of the green paper to give it a little more pizzazz.

I’m in love with the Character Construction stamps I recently bought from my local craft store. Don’t you just adore the little bee-boy? And her hat made from a bee hive? I stamped both images on watercolor paper, colored them with my water brush and Inktense pencils, and then fuss-cut them out. I also edged them with a black marker for a finishing touch.

I used a Sizzix floral embossing folder on the green paper, then layered that with the blue patterned paper from Authentique, and finally layered that with pink card stock for the main image. I popped up the little bee with foam tape for some dimension.

I do like this a happy, spring-time card. I think I’ll mail it to my friend who likes bees. I think she’ll get a kick out of it!

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

