Thank You for Your Friendship Embossed Card

Here’s a card inspired by yet another ShopKick graphic. It’s still not exactly what I was hoping to achieve, but I think it works:

I had to experiment with my new Anna Griffin embossing folder.

I had to experiment with my new Anna Griffin embossing folder.

I had just bought this lovely Cuttlebug embossing folder by Anna Griffin, called Foulard. I ran it through my Big Shot twice using two pastel cardstock papers in a muted pink and teal. I cut these embossed images into quarters, making sure to slice exactly through the center lines of the pattern. Then I used my Tim Holtz sanding block to gently scrape away the top layer to better reveal the embossed design in the white core.

Next I took a white card base sized 5″ x 6.5″ and lightly penciled in grid marks against my ruler so I could line everything up evenly. I alternated the pink and teal panels (2″ x 2.75″) to form the same embossed design on the card. I left a small horizontal space between the two rows to stamp my sentiment, which came from the Hero Arts Everyday Sayings stamp set. I adhered the panels using 1/8″ inch foam adhesive squares to give them a little depth (and to account for the unevenness of the embossed design).

I rounded the corners using my Corner Chomper and tied a white hemp cord at the top for the finishing touch.

I will continue working with this concept of using embossed panels pieced together to form different designs. I like the idea of animal prints, but I haven’t been able to make the look come together yet.

Please let me know what you think. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Thank You for Your Friendship Embossed Card

Leave a Reply

