Camera birthday card

It’s always a challenge to create masculine birthday cards. I just bought a 6″ x 6″ Echo Park paper pad called This & That Charming that has a lot of male-inspired imagery and colors. Although cameras are great for both genders, I thought they would be the perfect theme for my brother-in-law’s upcoming birthday. He’s taken some really impressive photos as a hobby.

For this card, I followed the same sketch as my previous typewriter card, based on an assignment in the Online Card Classes Pattern Play class. Here’s the camera version:

A masculine birthday card. complete with  cameras.

A masculine birthday card. complete with cameras.

The idea is that the vellum helps soften a busy pattern while still letting it show through. I really loved the camera paper, so I want to call more attention to that portion of the card.

I stamped the A2 card base with my Hero Arts Envelope Pattern stamp in VersaMagic Aloe Vera ink. I layered the patterned papers on a piece of goldenrod textured paper, and I added Washi tape in a yellow arrow pattern at the top and bottom. Using Versamark ink and black embossing powder, I embossed the camera (from an older Martha Stewart Bon Voyage stamp set) and the smile sentiment (from a new Heidi Swapp stamp set).Some silver studs added the finishing touch; much more masculine than traditional rhinestone bling, don’t you think?

You can’t see the inside, but I stamped a sentiment from my Fiskars birthday set that I thought was fitting: “Wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been. Mark Twain.”

Here’s hoping my brother-in-law will like it. Happy birthday, Jim!

Leave a Reply

