His & Hers Cards: Thinking of You

I’m taking the Online Card Class, His and Hers, which includes techniques to create masculine and feminine cards by changing just a few details. I am loving the class already!

For my first assignment, I’ve created a masculine and feminine card using the same image stamps but with different colors and slightly different sentiments.

My feminine and masculine (L to R) cards using the same image but different colors.

My feminine and masculine (L to R) cards using the same image but different colors.

I chose floral stamps that have an exotic, paisley look to them, so I think they work for both males and females. Unfortunately, when I bought this stamp set last year, I unwittingly threw away the outer packaging, so I don’t know the name of this stamp set or the manufacturer. Apologies! Now I know better than to throw those things away!

For the feminine card, I worked with shades of purple, pink and a little green. I stamped the images in Versafine Onyx Black and then colored them in with my Derwent Inktense pencils and a water brush. The sentiment comes from the Hero Arts set Good Friends.

The masculine card uses the same floral images, but this time stamped in Brilliance Moonlight White, then slightly offset with the same stamp in Versafine Vintage Sepia ink, on dark brown Bazzill cardstock. The more masculine style of sentiment comes from another Hero Arts set, CL582 (sorry, I can’t find a name on the set, but it also has some hearts and stars mixed with the sentiments). The card base is ivory.

I also made the the female card smaller and narrower, while the male card is taller and wider. I hadn’t really planned it that way, but I think it reinforces the his and hers theme, don’t you think?

It’s interesting to think of images, sentiments, fonts and colors in terms of masculine and feminine. I think most of these can be appreciated by both genders, with just a little finagling.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

