His & Hers Cards: Happy Birthday

In this second assignment from Online Card Classes: His and Hers, we focused on creating birthday cards with masculine and feminine twists. I loved all the examples from class, but I especially loved the clean and simple look of working with strips of colored vellum.

Bright colors for my girly card, and natural colors for my manly card.

Bright colors for my girly card, and natural colors for my manly card.

My “Her” card followed the class assignment pretty closely. I used a white card base and white card stock for the layer, around which I wrapped four thin strips of vellum. Although the instructor used various shades of Copic markers to color her vellum strips, I don’t have any (they are too expensive!). Instead, I used my Tim Holtz Distress Markers in feminine colors of pink and blue. Since they are like watercolor markers, I ended up rubbing each strip with a paper towel right after I colored it to help blend it in. You can still see some streaks, but I am okay with that!

I used my Simon Says Stamp die-cut, “Oh Happy Day,” to add the word “Happy” in light blue glittered paper. I tucked it behind the top strip, and then stamped the pink diagonal strip with a birthday stamp from Stampabilities. Then I added iridescent sequins randomly. I loved the instructor’s tip of sticking each sequin on a glue dot and then adhering the glue dot to the paper. Much easier than using wet glue or glue tape!

For the “His” card, I used the same technique but with more manly colors. I started with an ivory card base and a layer of tan textured paper. This time I colored the four vellum strips in shades of brown, yellow and green. I used the same birthday stamp on the green vellum. Then I stamped “Happy” above the strips in Versafine Onyx Black using a rustic-looking stamp from a Fiskars set. Instead of sequins, I found some bronze brads in my stash, which I think adds to the outdoorsy feel. By the way, with both cards, I stamped the “birthday” sentiment using StazOn black ink, since I figured that would be better on vellum.

I really like using the vellum strips to custom-color my cards. Please let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “His & Hers Cards: Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

