His & Hers: Wow Card

For Day 5 of His and Hers Online Card Classes, one of the instructors showcased a double-embossing technique. This is where you run an embossing folder through an embossing machine (I used my Sizzix Big Shot) to dry-emboss it, and then wet-boss it using embossing powder. Here’s my example:

A double-embossed congratulations card that appeals to both men and women.

A double-embossed congratulations card that appeals to both men and women.

It’s funny, this assignment was supposed to focus on love or anniversary cards for males and females. Unfortunately, right now I do not have a significant other in my life. so I decided to create a general card instead. I went with a “wow” theme that can be used to congratulate someone, which I figured would be appropriate with all the school graduations coming up.  Of course, “wow” turned upside down also turns into “mom,” which can be used for Mother’s Day.

I used a white card base and dry-embossed it with a Spellbinders embossing folder in a harlequin pattern. I think the diamond shapes appeal to both men and women. Then I ran my embossing powder tool thoroughly over the design, especially in the recessed portions. The idea behind this technique is to wet-emboss only the raised images, so the powder that gets in the recessed areas helps to resist the embossing ink. This is an important step! I tried it without it, and the embossing powder stuck everywhere and created a mess.

Then you lightly run a clear, sticky embossing ink like Versamark over the embossed (or raised) images. Just rub the ink pad over it directly. Next you sprinkle an embossing powder over the inked design. I used Stampendous Pirate Gold. You probably will still get stray embossing powder in the recessed edges, so be prepared to take a clean, tiny paint brush to carefully brush away the excess powder before drying it with your heat tool. As you can see, it’s still not perfectly embossed, but I think that adds a homemade touch to the card.

In keeping with the clean and simple design example, I used my Cricut Mini to cut out a simple word, Wow, in white paper. Then I backed the cut-out piece with a scrap of gold paper that matched the gold embossing powder. I adhered it with dimensional foam to add a little depth.

That’s it! Now I have a gender-neutral card just waiting to congratulate a friend or family member on their next accomplishment. Enjoy!

One thought on “His & Hers: Wow Card

Leave a Reply

