OCC Summer Camp 2: Hoping You Have An Amazing Birthday Card

In my second assignment for the Online Card Classes Summer Card Camp 2, I’ve worked with the same palette of bright colors.

A bright birthday theme on a chevron background.

A bright birthday theme on a chevron background.

The technique I learned here was using tape to mask certain portions of the stamp so that I could stamp it in multiple colors.You take a piece of tape and cover up most of the stamp, except the portion you want in one particular color. You ink that portion up, remove the tape, and then stamp it. Since the other portion was obscured, the inked part is the only portion that shows. You continue that process for the rest of the stamp, moving the tape in the areas as needed and using different inks. Per the class example, I used a stamp positioner to ensure that I stamped in the same place each time.

Here I used a Simon Says Stamp sentiment, Hoping You Have An Amazing Birthday. It is from the Happy Every Day set. The top and bottom inks are Hero Arts Shadow Inks in  Soft Apricot and Butter Bar, respectively. The blue color is VersaMagic Sea Breeze, and the pink color is Memento Rose Bud. You can see that I had to stamp some of the colors multiple times to get even coverage. It’s not perfect, but it will do!

I used the same hot pink ink to color the sides of the underlying paper to match. The background stamp is a chevron Cover-A-Card stamp from Impression Obsession, stamped in the same Butter Bar ink on a piece of yellow Bazzill card stock. It is scored on the left for a side-folding card.

The final touch was to add some turquoise rhinestones and round the top right corner with my Corner Chomper.

I like how bright it is and think it will make a nice addition to my birthday card stash.

What do you think? Thanks for looking!

4 thoughts on “OCC Summer Camp 2: Hoping You Have An Amazing Birthday Card

Leave a Reply

