OCC Summer Camp 2: Hello Butterflies

I guess I am on a butterfly roll! I wasn’t intending to use butterflies again for my third Online Card Class Summer Card Class 2 assignment, but somehow the Martha Stewart butterfly punches chose me.

Blue watercolor butterflies against a green backdrop.

Blue watercolor butterflies against a green backdrop.

This week’s assignments should use at least four of the five chosen colors, which are two shades of green, a lighter blue, brown and cream. We also have a choice of three sketches. I chose one that used six circles of various sizes in one corner of the card. Once again, instead of circles, I chose butterflies.

Here I used a light green card base from Bazzill. I inked up a Hero Arts Envelope Pattern stamp with Tim Holtz Distress Ink in a darker green, Peeled Paint, for a subtle background. Then I took a white gel pen and drew dashes along the edges. I heat embossed the “hello” sentiment using Versamark ink and Tim Holtz Distress embossing powder in Vintage Photo. The sentiment stamp is from Stampendous.

I punched the butterflies out of textured cream-colored card stock. Then I took the brush tip of a Tim Holtz Distress Marker in Broken China and lightly drew around the edges of each butterfly. Next I took my water brush over the inked edges to blend in the blue in. I tried to get different effects by varying the amount of water. Since the paper isn’t watercolor, I had to be careful not to use too much water in case the paper tore. I let them dry overnight and attached them the next day with Tombow Mono Glue. I pinched the wings upward with my fingers for added dimension.

I think I like it. What about you?

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

