OCC Summer Camp 2: Hello Owl Embossed Card

For another second week assignment in the Online Card Class Summer Camp 2, I decided to try a heat-embossed card from Day 2. I used the same color palette as before: cream, light blue, two shades of green, and brown.

An owl card for my niece at summer camp.

An owl card for my niece at summer camp.

The idea here is to stamp your images with embossing ink on colored card stock and heat emboss it with clear embossing powder. This gives it a clean, two-toned look. I used a new stamp set, Recollections Cling Set, that I got on clearance at Michaels for $.99 (yay, savings!). I don’t see a name for this set, but its main image is a big owl, and it includes a branch and leaves that you can stamp separately.

After I heat-embossed my images with Versamark Ink, I carefully cut around the edges, leaving a small rim. I used a tape runner to adhere the branch, and foam squares to give the other images more dimension. I added two blue rhinestones to make the owl’s eyes.

I was tempted to dry-emboss the blue background, but I decided to leave it simple. The background paper has a subtle texture to it. I stamped the “hello” sentiment in a brown Versafine Ink. After rounding the corners, I adhered it to a top-folding card base from Neenah Desert Storm.

My niece loves owls (as do I), so I will mail this to her while she’s away at summer camp. I think she will like it.

What about you? Please tell me what you like. Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

