A Little Bird Told Me Card

Recently I met a couple of former colleagues for breakfast, and they asked me to mail them a card so I could show off my new hobby. The previous post was for Amy, a grant writer. This card is for Andrea, a stay-at-home mom who keeps active with a couple of local organizations.

Yes, my bird managed to escape his cage!

Yes, my bird managed to escape his cage!

I thought the sentiment, “A little bird told me,” was perfect as Andrea is wonderful at keeping in touch with a variety of people. She’s also an excellent event organizer!

The design is inspired by my recent Online Card Class Summer Camp 2, though it doesn’t follow the example exactly. The card base is from Neenah Desert Storm. I chose a pastel green layer that I dry embossed with a Cuttlebug embossing folder. I used the stub end of my Corner Chomper to notch the corners.

The focal point is a bird and birdcage die cut from My Favorite Things. Isn’t it cute? I adhered the cage with a tape runner and popped up the bird with foam squares. I decided to place the bird just outside the cage as I couldn’t stand to see him locked up. LOL!

For a little interest, I added a cover for the cage using pink patterned paper from a 6″ x 6″ paper pad. I stamped the sentiment (from a Penny Black stamp set of the same name) over a subtle and complementary patterned paper across the center of the bird cage.

As my finishing touches, I added three rhinestones (including one as the bird’s eye) and tied a Doodlebug pink and white piece of twine into a hanging bow over the cage.

I am pretty happy with it, and I think Andrea will like it. Please tell me what you like!

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

