La Soiree Celebration Card

Sometimes you need a simple, stylish card for a happy occasion, whether a birthday, anniversary or other celebration. I think this card fits the bill.

A clean, simple and fashionable card for any celebration.

A clean, simple and fashionable card for any celebration.

I was thrilled to get this Penny Black La Soiree wood stamp in the mail. I found a great deal at an Etsy shop that carries lots of Penny Black stamps.  I just wanted to see how it stamped, and before you know it, I had a card.

To elevate the design, I went for an embossed image, using Versamark clear embossing ink and black superfine embossing powder by Ranger. Because I wanted to add watercolor but still wanted a bright white background, I chose Bristol paper. Though it’s not as conducive to watercoloring as watercolor paper, it can still hold up against pilling if you don’t use too much water.

I matched my teal Bazzill Candy Shop card stock with a similar teal Inktense pencil. Using just a little water from my water brush, I colored in various shades of the tint at the shoes, the bow on the bag, her dress and some balloons. Especially with the balloons, I varied the amount of water and even colored in a couple balloons twice after the first layer dried. I used a heat tool to speed up the process, but it’s not necessary if you have enough time.

As finishing touches, I rounded the bottom corners of the image with my Corner Chomper and added a clear rhinestone in the upper corner.

In addition to having a clean and simple look, it really is pretty easy and fast to make. That’s not always the case with simple cards; I find sometimes they take me twice as long to get them just right!

I am very happy with the outcome. I think this design will appeal to a lot of my women friends, especially if I create them in a variety of colors. Actually, I think I might create a set in different shades to give as a gift.

I would love to hear what you think about the card. Do you like it?

Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “La Soiree Celebration Card

Leave a Reply

