Cards for Dog and Cat Lovers

Are you a dog lover? Or do you prefer cats? Or both?

I think most of us fall into one of these three camps. So you can never go wrong having a stash of dog and cat greeting cards. Recently I wanted to thank a couple of co-workers who helped me with a project. Of course, one is a dog lover, and the other is a cat lover. So I created two similar cards using different dog and cat stamps.

A "purrfect" card for a cat lover.

A “purrfect” card for a cat lover.

 

A "woof" card for a dog lover.

A “woof” card for a dog lover.

I created the cat card first. Aren’t those cat stamps from Paper Smooches too cute? I love the variety! I stamped the different cats a various angles using a stamp press and Versafine brown ink. Then I stamped the solid cat on a piece of dark brown card stock in Versamark clear embossing ink.

I embossed it with my heat tool and fine white embossing powder from Recollections. I used the same paper and embossing powder to create the sentiment, “Have a purrrfect day,” and added the little fish bone at the end. I adhered everything to Neenah Desert Storm craft card stock, popping up the embossed kitty with foam squares. The final touch was adding two silver metal dots.

For the dog card, I used a similar technique featuring stamps from Hero Arts set. Don’t you love the different dog breeds? I’m not good with all the breed names, but I think I see a Dachschund, a Boxer and a Terrier.

This time I used the Versmark embossing ink by itself to create a darker watermark effect on the craft paper. Make sure you let it dry before proceeding. Then I embossed the cute dog (is that a Terrier?) and the woof talk bubble on white card stock using Ranger Superfine Embossing Powder in black. I popped those up using foam squares and added a black and white piece of twine at the top.

What do you think? Which do you prefer?

Thanks for looking!

P.S. I love animals of all kinds. Right now I share my home with two very sweet feline siblings, Bella and Beau.

3 thoughts on “Cards for Dog and Cat Lovers

Leave a Reply

