Halloween Card: Glittery Jack O’Lantern

I love this time of year in Florida. Though it’s still humid, the start of fall signals the promise of cooler weather. And, of course, pumpkin spice coffee (my favorite)!

To get in the mood for fall, I’m making Halloween cards. My first one is a clean and simple design, one that I think will appeal to my fashion-forward friends.

2013-09-08 15.05.45

A glittery Jack O’Lantern to celebrate Halloween.

I bought this EK Success Jack O’Lantern punch on clearance last Halloween. It was a thrill to pull it out of my almost-forgotten Halloween stash. Almost like getting a surprise Halloween gift!

I punched out the smiling pattern on some orange glitter paper from a 12″ x 12″ Martha Stewart Crafts Halloween-themed paper pad, Carnival. I rounded the corners with my Corner Chomper and adhered it to a black card stock base from Bazzill using foam squares. I like how the raised orange panel creates dimension and shadow for the Jack O’Lantern face.

Figuring out the right sentiment was a challenge. Originally I had created a banner sentiment from white paper and various Halloween-themed Distress Inks, but it looked too vintage against the glitter.

Finally, I found in my stash these rhinestone alphabet letters from the Paper Studio. I used a ruler and a pencil to line the three letters up evenly to spell, “Boo.”

And I’m not done yet! Normally I don’t do a lot on the inside of my cards, but I thought this was a perfect time to use my mini Jack O’Lantern punch. I think it’s also from EK Success.

This time I punched it out of the same orange glitter paper, and adhered it with Tombow Mono Multi Glue to the bottom right corner of white card stock. I rounded the corners once again and adhered it to the inside.

The inside hides its own mini Jack O'Lantern.

The inside hides its own mini Jack O’Lantern.

Cute, huh?

Please tell me what you think. What are you making for Halloween this year?

Thanks for looking!

5 thoughts on “Halloween Card: Glittery Jack O’Lantern

  1. Pingback: Halloween Card: Spooky Jack O’Lantern | Paper Pipedreams

Leave a Reply

