Melle Papillon Wishing You Lots of Happy Card

Here’s a sweet card for a girl or teen. Actually I made this one for my grown sister, as this image reminds me of her when she was little girl.

A sweet little girl card.

A sweet little girl card.

I just love this wood stamp from Penny Black, Melle Papillon. The little girl seems to capture the innocence of childhood, and the tiny butterflies add a touch of whimsy.

I stamped the image in Versafine Black Onyx onto a piece of watercolor paper. Using a water brush and Tim Holtz Distress Markers, I colored the image in a variety of shades, using more or less water as needed. It’s hard to tell from the photo, but I also used Glossy Accents over the butterflies to make them shiny.

Then I used my Spellbinders scalloped edge label die to cut the image out. Later on I decided to make the background blue, so I placed the die frame back around the image, and sponged two colors of Distress Ink in Broken China and Peacock Feathers around the edges. When you remove the die, it leaves a nice white border.

So that the sentiment wouldn’t distract from the pretty little girl, I created it on vellum paper, using Versamark embossing ink and white detail embossing powder. I added a pink sequin for a pop of color. The sentiment, Wishing You Lots of Happy, is from a Simon Says Stamp set.

To play off the colors in the image, I layered a piece of pink card stock (with rounded edges) and adhered that to a card base in yellow from Bazzill.

My sister said she loved it. What do you think?

Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “Melle Papillon Wishing You Lots of Happy Card

Leave a Reply

