Halloween Card: Trick or Treat Cat

Happy Halloween! For my last Halloween card this year, here’s an ode to spooky black cats (on a broom, no less!).

A spooky black cat flying on a broom.

A spooky black cat flying on a broom.

I borrowed this idea from a Lime Doodle blog post. I heat embossed in fine black embossing powder this awesome stamp of a cat flying away on a broom. (It’s a wooden stamp given to me as a gift by another crafty friend.)

Then I created an easy circle mask, using my Martha Stewart circle cutter on a sheet of Eclipse masking paper (it has a sticky back so that you are basically creating a big sticker that you cut out in the desired shape and size). I sized the circle to be slightly larger than my image. Then I placed the entire sheet, minus the circle, over a white card stock layer sized at 4″ x 5.25″.

Using a sponge blending tool, I shaded the now-exposed circle with three shades of orange and purple Distress Inks in Rusty Hinge, Spiced Marmalade and Dusty Concord. I left the center mostly white as a highlight. When you remove the mask, you have a cool circle in the colors of your choice. Plus, the inks resist the embossed image,

For the sentiment, I heat embossed in white embossing powder on black piece of card stock the words, “Trick or treat,” from a Recollections Halloween stamp set. I die cut the sentiment using a banner die from Simon Says Stamps and used foam adhesive to raise the banner center.

The finishing touches include adding purple enamel dots from Hero Arts, rounding the bottom corners with my Corner Chomper, and adhering it to a purple card base from Bazzill.

What do you think? Enjoy your Halloween. Hope you get lots of treats, not tricks!

Thanks for looking.

2 thoughts on “Halloween Card: Trick or Treat Cat

Leave a Reply

