Paris Card: Glittery Eiffel Tower

Roughly one month ago I was in the City of Lights, fulfilling my lifelong dream of visiting Paris. It was so worth it! I only wish I had done it sooner.

In celebration of that visit, I’ve created this Paris-themed card as a thank-you to my friend and traveling companion Tracy who helped navigate the charming, cobblestone streets of the world’s most visited city.

A clean and simple card paying homage to the Eiffel Tower.

A clean and simple card paying homage to the Eiffel Tower.

It is a very simple card with a focus on Paris’ most iconic tourist draw: the Eiffel Tower. As always with simple cards, I end up spending more time deciding what NOT to include. It can be a challenge to edit yourself!

Here I focused on a hot pink card base from Bazzill. I layered a black piece of textured card stock; I even experimented with a dry embossed version of the black layer but found that I liked the plain version better.

To that I added a die-cut image of the Eiffel Tower, cut from a My Favorite Things die on heavy white cardstock. I ran the piece through my Xyron to coat it in adhesive. Then I dipped it in extra fine silver glitter from Recollections. I burnished it with my finger, rubbing the excess glitter away.

I popped it up in the corner using foam squares and added a single clear rhinestone in the opposite corner for a touch of bling. On the inside I stamped in black Versafine ink a “Merci” sentiment from Penny Black.

I think my friend will like this memento of our Paris trip. Fortunately, we were able to visit the Eiffel Tower both day and night to experience all of its lovely views. Of course, during the day you can see all of Paris and its most recognizable sights, like the Louvre and the Notre Dame Cathedral. But at night, you also can see the tower in all its glittery glory. Every hour it sparkles in timed unison, like the lights on a Christmas tree.

Paris Eiffel Tower Lisa October 2013

Paris Eiffel Tower at night October 2013I am already missing that gorgeous city and wishing I could go back soon. But then again, I guess “we’ll always have Paris,” right? At least in photos–and homemade cards!

Please let me know what you think. Thank you, merci, for looking!

One thought on “Paris Card: Glittery Eiffel Tower

  1. The glittery tower is adornment enough. I always want to add too much and then come to the conclusion I should have stopped several steps before! Thanks for sharing the pictures. The lit up one is breathtaking! What amazing memories

Leave a Reply

