Masculine Card: Blueprint Cupcake

Here’s a birthday card that’s appropriate for a guy, featuring Tim Holtz paper and blueprint stamps:

A masculine card for my nephew.

A masculine card for my nephew.

In this case, it’s my nephew’s birthday today. He’s 23 years old now. Makes me feel old!

I used my Hero Arts Envelope Line wood stamp to create the background on the card, using Distress Ink in Forest Moss on Neenah Desert Storm card stock. I used that same stamp to create the center focal panel on off-white card stock, using Distress Ink in Spiced Marmalade for subtle texture.

I adhered the card front made from a Tim Holtz paper pad featuring typeset letters. To that I adhered the focal piece, along with two thin strips of card stock painted green using Distress Paint in Peeled Paint. I stamped the Tim Holtz blueprint cupcake stamp and the sentiment from another Tim Holtz set, “Wishing You All You Are Wishing For…”

I borrowed the idea for the paper-pieced cupcake from the Watercooler Love blog. I stamped the cupcake stamp three more times on white card stock to which I had applied three shades of Distress Paints in Vintage Photo, Peeled Paint and Mustard Seed. I had dried the paint swatches with my heat tool and used Staz On ink in brown to stamp the image.

Then I cut out the individual pieces, with the green for the cupcake wrapper and candle, the brown for the chocolate icing and the yellow for the candle flame. I pasted these over the original cupcake image, using foam tape for dimension.

The final touch was to wrap a piece of brown embroidery twine around the center panel.

What do you think? Is it masculine enough?

I think my nephew will like it. Thanks for looking!

3 thoughts on “Masculine Card: Blueprint Cupcake

Leave a Reply

