Birthday card: Floral Doodle Stamp and Punch

Recently I needed to create a quick birthday card, and I was looking for something that looked harder to make than it actually was. LOL!

Kraft card stock and pink images for a feminine birthday card.

Kraft card stock and pink images for a feminine birthday card.

This EK Tools stamp and punch set, Floral Doodle, came to the rescue. I picked this up at Michael’s awhile ago. It consists of several foam stamps of flowery doodles and sentiments. The stamps coordinate and can be layered over one another. It also includes a punch of the main flower image.

The box contains several photo examples, and I mimicked one in my time crunch. I used Neenah Desert Storm for the card base and the main flower that’s popped up with foam adhesive in the center. To keep some feminine flair, I used Hero Arts Shadow Ink in Bubblegum to stamp the images in a bright pink shade.

I used three stamps in the set: the squared-off doodle on the card base itself; the bigger flower that I stamped and punched out on another layer; and the smaller flower that I stamped and fussy-cut for the flower center.

To create a little more depth, I edged the main flower with the same pink ink, using the edge of the ink pad directly to the paper. I added an organza pink ribbon and some pink rhinestones as accents.

The final touch was to add the happy birthday sentiment from Simon Says Stamp and rounding the corners with my Corner Chomper.

It ended up being an unusual size as I got a little messy with my ink and had to trim off the mistake. Oh, well. I think it still works!

Please let me know what you think. Thanks for looking!

One thought on “Birthday card: Floral Doodle Stamp and Punch

Leave a comment